00 91 987 357 9007    info@keralaindiavacation.com
Read in Your Language : Russian Spanish French German Italian Portuguese Dutch
Kerala Ayurveda

Kerala Cities

Kerala Travel Guide
“YOGA-PADDHITI” (the whole Yoga exercise)


Yoga and Meditation in Kerala

Yoga and Meditation

YOGA LEADS TO PERFECTION!!! Yoga is the oldest way of spiritual, physical and psychological development of human beings and societies. This is not just another form of physical training, rather a link to connect your soul with the god, a medium to regularize your body functions and meditation for your spiritual growth. India, being the birth place of Yoga, is attracting several Western countries, as today even science admits that these spiritual exercises are very effective in healing disorders, and for relaxation.

Yoga and Meditation is simply the art of living that works towards the betterment of our health, moral values and social life. Our vedas suggest that almost every disease and disorder, be it physical, mental, social or spiritual, can be healed just by Yoga. And today it is accepted globally that Meditation is the best path to self-analysis and self-realization. If you follow the mantras of Yoga-Meditation with a positive approach, you will undoubtedly attain growth in each phase and aspect of your life. Yoga does not deliver results instantly. It requires sincere efforts and concentration.

“YOGA-PADDHITI” (the whole Yoga exercise) is basically inherited from our traditions and culture. Yoga-Paddhiti consists of 8 different stages/phases:

This is the first phase of Yoga-paddhiti and involves exercise regarding self-control. This initial stage focuses on one's intra-personal life. It teaches us how to deal with ethical or moral parameters and how to keep a check on our desires. The five Yamas which need to be controlled under this phase of Yoga are: Greed, Lying, Sensuality, Stealing and Violence.

The second stage of Yoga is again a kind of self-exercise that is related to self-discipline and self-development. It can be attained via striving for purity; not only the purity of body and environment, but also of mind. After learning self-control in Yama, we need to develop the strength of determination to do what we decide to do. Besides, introspection or self study is also needed. Our actions, words and thoughts determine if we are behaving in a harmonious and positive manner to achieve the happiness and satisfaction we strive for. We also need to follow the discipline of contentment in this phase. If all the conditions are fulfilled, we get surrendered to God.

goto Top

The third stage is all about practicing postures and physical exercises. Vedas have considered human body as a holy place for the soul. Via practicing Asana (Yogic postures) we can reach to that extent of concentration which is required to attain mental peace and spiritual growth. It is often said that correct body postures, while Yoga Paddhiti, help in absorbing all kinds of positive energies from the five elements of the atmosphere (Air, Water, Fire, Soil and Sky). Secondly, being stable in one position comfortably, for a long time and with full concentration, can also get you spiritual powers.

This stage is generally treated as just another respiratory exercise. But the fact is this particular breathing exercise has been evolved with the techniques to master or control your respiratory process. This fourth stage of Yoga Paddhiti is essential to get a connectivity in your mind, breath and emotions. As the name suggests (“Prana” means LIFE and “Yama” symbolizes FORCE), this exercise also helps in extending life. It can be performed at anyplace wherever there is peaceful environment, but it delivers best results when practiced in early morning in fresh air as daily Yoga routine. It purifies the mind via regulating vital energy of the body.

goto Top

Pratyahara is related to studying the inner part of yourself. It is practiced to end up the charm & craze of external world and to direct our attention internally. Pratyahara gives us time to talk to our inner self. This is based on thought processes only and is must to maintain the discipline over your senses. It enables us the way that we do not feel any pain while detachment from worldly objects. This fifth step of Yoga can be practiced while Pranayama or Asana or during any other activity requiring concentration. It explains us, “The source of all existence lies in ourselves. Try to look inward. Find Param-Brahma (the supreme spiritual power) in yourself.”

Dharana is the sixth limb of Yoga Paddhiti and it is the process of going in depth of concentration. Basically Dharana is a process to raise the attentiveness and concentrating on a single point or object. It can be a candle flame or a mantra like “OM”. This phase awakens your mental powers up to a high extent. Now you know your desires. This power can ignite ego, which sometimes can be dangerous too. That is why, as per the Yoga methodology, Dharana is to be practiced only after learning how to control your senses and desires via Pratyahara. Now, once the superior mental power is attained, it needs to be directed on a correct path. For the reason, Dharana is followed by Dhyana (contemplation). Dharana trains our mind to focus on a specific energy centre.

goto Top

Meditation or Contemplation is the seventh stage of Yoga. Although it's of the same pattern as Dharana, but the concentration is stronger here. Dhyana tries to make your concentration level reach Anant (infinity). Meditation is that level of concentration where nothing else exists except you and infinity. No more world, no more thoughts, but this other side of the world exists in you. In Dhyana, you start feeling that whatever is there in the world, exists in you only. You start feeling as if there is no burden on you from the outer world. You start feeling light. Your Kundalis (7 power rings found in your backbone) start playing their role of absorbing positive energy from the atmosphere.

When concentration attains its peak, it turns into Samadhi. Earlier the Kundalis were inactive or in sleeping state (Supta), but at this last phase of Yoga, they turn active or Jagrit. Activating Kundalis is not so easy for everyone. Only a few can reach to that level of concentration. Here you can meet that supreme or supernatural power which is described as “Param-Brahma” in our Vedas. Samadhi gives you ultimate pleasure. It is like merging yourself with God. Samadhi takes you to that stage where you and the universe are one.

goto Top

So, the journey that starts with self-analysis and self-realization, ends at this divine state.

Whenever it is the question of rejuvenation, Meditation and Yoga Centres at Kerala are considered the best option. Following Yoga sincerely can make your body free from most ailments and more flexible too. Meditation is not just about concentration; it is setting your mind free of unwanted thoughts, which can not be reached immediately. It may take days or even months to attain full concentration. In Kerala, trained meditation experts try to take you up to that  level of concentration. If someone opts for an Ayurvedic treatment, he/she is also prescribed certain Yoga exercises and Meditation. This is just to clean the soul along with body and mind. So what are you waiting for? Get ready to see the world from another perspective.

Get Free Tour Quote & Information!

Your Phone
Arrival Date

No. of Pax

Your Area of Interest (optional)

Best Kerala Packages